Philippe Gerrienne

Background

Philippe Gerrienne is a FNRS Research Associate in the Palaeobotany, Palaeopalynolgy and Micropaleontology Unit at the University of Liège’s Geology Department (Belgium). He also teaches in the field of Palaeobotany. His main research area is the study of the very first terrestrial plants, their systematics, their biology and their geographical distribution. ‘Every time I dig up fossil plants, it’s the same fascination, the same sense of wonder, before this slightly open window onto a biodiversity we still understand so poorly. I also feel a little sad and have a strange sense of guilt. These fossils, which have come down to us sometimes almost intact after millions of years of an improbable geological journey, are destined to a very short expiry date. Attacked by the light and by oxygen, they will rapidly fade and as good as disappear. Nonetheless the steps taken by palaeobotanists are driven by a hope, the hope of one day being able to tell one of the most fabulous stories, the story of the thousands of plant species which populate the Earth today.’

Philippe Gerrienne’s scientific journey began in 1982 with the study of fossil plants on a Belgian site dating back to the Early Devonian period (thus more or less 400 million years ago). He subsequently produced a doctoral thesis concerning all of the Belgian sites of the same period. During this research he discovered over a dozen species and genuses, certain of which belong to families which were not known of up until that point. In 1993 he was nominated a FNRS Research Associate and extended his field of interest to, on the one hand, fossil plants of a Devonian age found in, for example, Brazil or Morocco, and on the other hand to more recent plant fossils (Middle and Late Devonian, Carboniferous, Tertiary or even subactual).

He has organised, co-organised or taken part in Devonian fossil gathering missions in the four corners of the planet (Australia, Brazil, China, and Morocco). For several years he has also taught plant biology to the future biologists and geologists at the University of Liège. He regularly participates in activities seeking to make science accessible, which he has a particular affection for.

Publications

Consult the list of publications on ORBI

Contact

P.Gerrienne@ulg.ac.be

See article(s) and video(s)

And plant created wood
Land plants have suddenly aged

Philippe Gerrienne

Parcours

Philippe Gerrienne est Chercheur Qualifié du Fonds pour la Recherche Scientifique - FNRS dans l'unité Paléobotanique, Paléopalynologie et Micropaléontologie du Département de Géologie de l'Université de Liège (Belgique). Il est également responsable des enseignements de Paléobotanique. Son principal domaine de recherches est l'étude des toutes premières plantes terrestres, leur systématique, leur biologie et leur distribution géographique. « Chaque fois que je récolte des plantes fossiles, c’est la même fascination, le même émerveillement devant cette fenêtre entrouverte sur une biodiversité que nous connaissons encore si mal. J’éprouve souvent aussi un peu de tristesse et même un étrange sentiment de culpabilité. Ces fossiles qui nous sont parvenus, parfois presque intacts, au terme de millions d’années d’un improbable voyage géologique, sont condamnés à très brève échéance. Attaqués par la lumière et par l’oxygène, ils vont rapidement s’affadir et quasiment disparaître. Pourtant, la démarche des paléobotanistes est porteuse d’espoir : celui de pouvoir raconter un jour une des plus fabuleuses histoires, l’histoire de ces centaines de milliers d’espèces de plantes qui peuplent la Terre d'aujourd’hui.»

Le parcours scientifique de Philippe Gerrienne a débuté en 1982 par l'étude des plantes fossiles d'une localité belge du Dévonien inférieur (vieille donc d'à peu près – 400 millions d'années). Ensuite, il a réalisé une thèse de doctorat sur l'ensemble des localités belges de la même époque. A cette occasion, il a découvert plus d'une dizaine d'espèces et de genres nouveaux, dont certains appartiennent à des familles jusque là inconnues. En 1993, il est nommé Chercheur qualifié du FNRS et élargit son champ d'intérêt d'une part aux plantes fossiles d'âge dévonien trouvées par exemple au Brésil ou au Maroc, et d'autre part à des fossiles végétaux plus récents (Dévonien moyen ou supérieur, Carbonifère, Tertiaire ou même subactuels).

Il a organisé, co-organisé ou participé à des missions de récoltes de fossiles dévoniens aux quatre coins du monde (Australie, Brésil, Chine, Maroc). Pendant plusieurs années, il a en outre enseigné la biologie végétale aux futurs biologistes et géologues de l'Université de Liège. Il participe régulièrement à des activités de vulgarisation scientifique, qu'il affectionne tout particulièrement.

Publications

Consulter la liste de publications sur ORBI

Contact

P.Gerrienne@ulg.ac.be

Voir article(s) et reportage(s)

Et la plante créa le bois
Les plantes terrestres prennent un coup de vieux