Michaël Herfs

Background

Michaël Herfs was born in Vervier in 1984.  He studied biomedical sciences at ULg and it was while he was there he fell in love with research, infected with the enthusiasm of the then president of the department, Professor Guy Dandrifosse.

Professor Jacques Boniver noticed this zealous student and suggested he do his end of study workwith him, channelling his passion towards anatomic pathology out of all the disciplines available to SBIM students: “What’s fantastic in anatomic pathology is that it allows us to “see” what we’re looking for. In cellular or molecular biology, you do everything blind. You extract RNA, DNA, proteins, but without being able to check them with your own eyes; you have to trust your equipment. In anatomic pathology, the starting point is the microscope and the tissues you slide under the lens. Things happen under my microscope and it’s up to me to discover why!” After his end of study work, Michaël Herfs obtained a 4-year FNRS research fellow’s grant and immediately started on a doctorate, still in Jacques Boniver’s department, under the direction of Philippe Delvenne,  who became head of department in 2010. The thesis concerned one of Delvenne’s teams’ pet subjects: immunity in HPV-induced cancers (cervical cancer).    

Now an FNRS postdoctoral researcher, Michaël Herfs flew off to Boston at the beginning of 2011, to join the anatomic pathology laboratory of Professor Christopher Crum, a world specialist in cervical cancer, for a two-year postdoc. The laboratory is located within the prestigious Brigham & Women’s Hospital, which follows in the wake of the Harvard medical school along with the famous Mass General and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.   In the United States, his head of department, Christopher Crum, became his mentor. He speaks with admiration about his scientific dynamism and human qualities but also... their shared passion for fly fishing, which they would enjoy together at the weekend and during the holidays.

Since his return to GIGA two years ago, Michaël Herfs has been continuing his research on human papillomaviruses and the mechanisms that allow them to escape the immune system in the context of cancers that develop in the genital, anal and upper aerodigestive mucosa.

Publications

Consult the list of publications on ORBI

Contact

m.herfs@ulg.ac.be

See article(s) and video(s)

Treating cervical cancer with cryotherapy
The origins of cervical cancer

Michaël Herfs

Parcours

Michaël Herfs est né en 1984 ; il est Verviétois d’origine.  Il a étudié les sciences biomédicales à l’ULg et c’est là qu’il a véritablement eu le coup de foudre pour la recherche, emporté par l’enthousiasme du président de section de l’époque, le Prof Guy Dandrifosse.

Le Professeur Jacques Boniver remarque cet étudiant zélé et lui propose de faire son mémoire chez lui, canalisant sa passion vers l’anatomie pathologique, entre toutes les disciplines qui s’ouvrent aux étudiants en SBIM : « Ce qui est formidable dans l’anatomie pathologique, c’est qu’elle nous permet de « voir » ce que l’on cherche. En biologie cellulaire ou moléculaire, on fait tout à l’aveugle. On extrait l’ARN, l’ADN, les protéines, mais sans pouvoir vérifier de nos propres yeux; on doit faire confiance à notre matériel. En anatomie pathologique, le point de départ c’est le microscope et les tissus que l’on glisse sous l’objectif. Il se passe des choses dans mon microscope, à moi de découvrir pourquoi ! » Après son mémoire, Michaël Herfs obtient une bourse d’aspirant FNRS de 4 ans, et embraye aussitôt sur un doctorat, toujours dans le service de Jacques Boniver, sous la direction de Philippe Delvenne, qui lui a, depuis 2010, succédé à la tête du service. La thèse portait sur un des sujets fétiches de l’équipe de Delvenne : l'immunité dans les cancers HPV-induits (cancer du col).    

Devenu chargé de recherches FNRS, Michaël Herfs s’envole début 2011 pour Boston, où il intègre pour un post-doc de deux ans le laboratoire d’anatomie pathologique du Prof Christopher Crum, un des spécialistes mondiaux du cancer du col. Le laboratoire est situé au sein du prestigieux Brigham & Women’s Hospital, qui navigue avec les célébrissimes Mass General et Dana-Farber Cancer Institute dans le sillage de la faculté de Médecine de Harvard.  Aux Etats-Unis, Il s’est trouvé un mentor en la personne de son chef de service, Christopher Crum, dont il évoque avec admiration le dynamisme scientifique et les qualités humaines mais aussi…leur passion partagée pour la pêche à la mouche, qu’ils pratiquent ensemble le weekend et durant les vacances.

De retour au GIGA depuis deux ans, Michael Herfs continue ses recherches sur les papillomavirus humains et les mécanismes permettant à ces derniers d'échapper au système immunitaire dans le contexte des cancers se développant dans les muqueuses génitales, anales et aérodigestives supérieures.

Publications

Consulter la liste de publications sur ORBI

Contact

m.herfs@ulg.ac.be

Voir article(s) et reportage(s)

La cryothérapie contre le cancer du col de l’utérus 
Les origines du cancer du col de l’utérus